Member State


Sudan is a country in Northeast Africa. It is bordered by Egypt to the north, Libya to the northwest, Chad to the west, the Central African Republic to the southwest, South Sudan to the south, Ethiopia to the southeast, Eritrea to the east, and the Red Sea to the northeast.

Its capital is Khartoum and population is estimated to be 43.85 million as per 2020 estimates. Primary resources are agricultural, including cotton, peanuts, gum arabic, and sesame seeds.


Djibouti is a small country strategically located on the northeast coast of the Horn of Africa, occupying an area of 23,200 sq km. It shares borders with Eritrea, Ethiopia, and Somalia.

Despite the country’s limited natural resources, its land is rich in mineral deposits such as gold, granite, limestone, and marble. Logistics, port, and associated services are its major economic enterprise. Djibouti has an estimated population of 921,800 as in July 2020.


Kenya is the third-largest economy in sub-Saharan Africa after Nigeria and South Africa. The country is considered the economic and financial hub of East Africa. It has a population of 48.4 million as of July 2018.

Kenya’s natural resources are limestone, soda ash, salt, gemstones, zinc, and other small mineral deposits. The country’s abundant highland regions are suitable for diverse agriculture and wildlife sustainability.


Ethiopia is a landlocked country in the Horn of Africa. It has a total area of 1,104,300 sq km and an estimated population of 108.4 million (July 2018). The country’s capital is Addis Ababa.

The country’s key economic sectors such as telecommunications, banking, and power distribution are state-owned.

It has a limited reserve of mineral deposits such as gold, platinum, copper, and natural gas.


Its coastline faces the Red Sea and is shared by Saudi Arabia and Yemen. It has a total area of 117,000 square kilometers and its capital city is Asmara situated on the edge of the Eritrean highland in the northeastern part.

Its natural resources include gold, copper, zinc, and natural gas. Its main agricultural products are corn, cotton, tobacco, coffee, and vegetables. Major industries include food and beverage processing, clothing, and textile manufacturing.


Somalia is bordered by Ethiopia to the west, the Gulf of Aden to the north, the Guardafui Channel and Somali Sea to the east, and Kenya to the southeast. It has the longest coastline on Africa’s mainland and has a total area of 637,657 sq km. Its capital is Mogadishu.

Somalia’s natural resources include uranium, iron ore, tin, copper, bauxite, natural gas, and untapped oil reserves. Agricultural land comprises 70.3 percent of its territory.