Djibouti designates members to Regional Task Force on Trade Facilitation

The Ministers of Finance, Infrastructure, and Budget of Djibouti have designated the national members of the HoAI Regional Task Force for Trade Facilitation.

The HoAI Task Force for Trade Facilitation is a regional body made up of members from the Ministries of Finance, Trade, Transport and from Customs in five Horn of Africa countries (Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, and South Sudan).

It will be responsible for the design and preparation of regional projects in the area of trade and transport facilitation to submit to the Developing Partners who support the Initiative for the request of the financial and technical assistance needed for their launch and implementation. The projects will be based on the measures recommended in the HoAI Trade Facilitation Roadmap, an ambitious attempt from HoAI countries to facilitate trade and remove obstacles to the free movements of goods and commercial vehicles in the region, so to increase intra-HoAI trade.

The Task Force will be responsible to gather the facilitation measures in the Roadmap within coherent regional projects with detailed actions, deadlines, and clear estimates of financial and technical needs.

Similar designation processes for the composition of the other Task Force national Delegations are ongoing in Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, and South Sudan.

Share this event